Oletko miettinyt etupotkijuutta? Potkua tukemalla pääset etupotkijoiden omalle alueelle, jossa asiantuntijat vastaavat kysymyksiin. Lisäksi etupotkijana voit selata Potkua näkemättä yhtään mainosta. Tutustu ja mieti. :)

Leo Gajen haastattelu URCC:n sivuilla

Filippiiniläiset ja Indonesialaiset lajit

Valvoja: Valvoja

Vastaa
Kuvake
mronkain
etupotkija
Viestit tässä aiheessa: 1
Lauteille: Joulukuu 2004

Leo Gajen haastattelu URCC:n sivuilla

Viesti mronkain »

(URCC = Universal Reality Combat Championship, filippiiniläinen MMA-turnaus)

http://www11.pair.com/urcc/interview_leogaje.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Grand Tuhon Leo Gaje Jr.
by: Shad S. de Guzman

How did you start in the field of weaponry arts, and for how long have you been teaching?

I started at the early age of six, and I've been teaching since 1970. That means at least thirty-four years by now. The history is that I was the only grandson of my grandfather the Great Grand Tuhon Conrado B. Tortal, and he was the supreme grandmaster of Pekiti Tirsia Kali in Negros Occidental with his four brothers. This system has been kept for sometime, but I was able to bring it out in the early 70's in the United States starting in New York City.

Do you also have any knowledge in other weapon arts aside from Arnis?

It's purely Pekiti Tirsia, a Filipino indigenous art and I have no other involvement in any other martial arts except for Pekiti Tirsia. Well, actually I don't call it Arnis, it has to be Kali, because Arnis has no part in our Filipino culture, Arnis is Spanish. And there is no reason for it to be called as Arnis or Escrima because it has to be Kali. That is why we are currently thriving to educate everybody that the art is not "Arnis Escrima," but it must be Kali.